Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) certification

Certification Overview

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) certification is very popular in the field of IT Service Management. The popularity is mostly due to the fact that it uses industry best practices and gives a positive impact on businesses. The ITIL certification has a number of levels. The entry level is the foundation level which deals with providing knowledge on the important elements of the lifecycle of ITIL service, the different associations between stages of lifestyle, the contribution of processes to the practices of service management. The next level is the intermediate level, followed by the expert and master level. The master level ITIL certification demonstrates the candidate’s ability to apply the methods, values and techniques learned into the real world of business. ITIL course is designed such that it helps companies to select places where improvement is needed. ITIL courses provide specific guidance on what changes must be made and where so that it increases productivity and reduces cost. For example, in order to lower the load of work on helpdesk, ITIL best practice can be used to decide whether to divide some work between in house and third party vendor.

Who need to do this certification?

The ITIL course is suitable for those individuals who need basic knowledge of the ITIL infrastructure or who wants to know how ITIL practices can be used to improve management of IT service in the company. Completing ITIL course creates new opportunities in the following job roles:

  • Project Manager
  • Service Desk Analyst
  • Change Manager
  • Help Desk Manager
  • Problem Manager


ITIL certification can be beneficial to both the individual and the company. For the individual, the ITIL course provides real life framework to find out, plan, provide outcome and support IT services. These professionals can enhance productivity of businesses and can make business services more efficient and effective. They keep the business updated with changes taking place and makes businesses adaptable to changes. Customer needs are focused and user experience is given priority over technology. Organizations benefit from the fact that IT services are aligned with business services and strategic objectives are met. More emphasis is given on increasing service value, at the same time reducing risk and cost. Certified professionals are more productive and are able to satisfy customer more. ITIL certified professionals will get higher salary and better opportunity.

Associated Exams

The candidates should appear in a written exam in order to be ITIL certified. The minimum pass score must be obtained for becoming eligible for the certification.


The ITIL foundation course, or ITIL v3 foundation course, has no prerequisite. But for higher certifications, the previous level certifications become the prerequisites. That is, for ITIL intermediate certification, ITIL foundation course is the prerequisite; for ITIL expert certification, ITIL intermediate is the prerequisite, and for ITIL master certification, ITIL expert certification is the prerequisite. For higher level certifications, participating in an ITIL training course is compulsory before appearing in the exam.

Examination Overview

The objectives of the ITIL foundation exam are:

  • Understanding the concept of service management and its practical aspect
  • Complete understanding of the ITIL service lifecycle
  • Basic definitions, models and principles
  • Definite functions, roles and processes
  • Training and capability
  • Design and technology

The ITIL Intermediate level certification has several modules. The topics covered in the exam are more detailed than the foundation level certification. The ITIL intermediate certification has two streams of services: the lifecycle stream and the capability stream. The lifecycle stream includes five fields: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service operation, and Service Transition and Continual Service Improvement. The capability stream includes four fields: operational analysis and support; service agreement and service offerings; control, release and validation; and protection, planning and optimization.

For exam preparation, candidates should study ITIL books which give important tips and methods for scoring well in the exam. Various ITIL training courses are also available. ITIL courses online are also helpful. Candidates should attend ITIL classes which are usually interactive, so provides a better insight to the exam. ITIL online course materials can be easily accessed via the internet. ITIL course material can also be found in the market or can be ordered from authorized dealers.

Validity of Certification

The ITIL certification never expires once achieved. So unlike other courses, candidates don’t need to worry about recertification issues with this ITIL course.

Expert Review

ITIL is not a tool but rather a set of best practices pertaining to IT service and lifecycle management.

Rich Hein

Managing Editor,

Related IT Guides

  1. PMI PMP
  2. Six Sigma certifications - for your career
  3. ITIL certifications, more accent on existing training methods
  4. CISSP practice exam
  5. Six Sigma and Lean Six Sigma overview
  6. Six Sigma Green Belt
  7. PMI PMP will introduce you to the project management career
  8. Project Management Professional Certification
  9. Six Sigma Black Belt Training
  10. Six Sigma Black Belt
  11. PMP course
  12. ITIL V3 Foundation certification: topics
  13. PMI PMP for project managers
  14. Six Sigma and Lean Six Sigma
  15. Six Sigma certification: how to achieve
  16. ISC2 CISSP certificates
  17. ITIL Certifications overview
  18. ITIL v3 foundation: preparing for exam
  19. PMI PMP certification, more accent on preparation methods
  20. PMP - an important certification for project managers
  21. PMI PMP Certification: topics for exam
  22. Project Management Professional Certification overview
  23. PMI PMP Overview
  24. ITIL V3 Foundation - for all who looking to uplift their career
  25. Six Sigma certifications: exam questions
  26. Confirm your skills with PMI PMP certification
  27. Six Sigma Black Belt certification
  28. ITIL certifications: topics of exams
  29. ITIL
  30. Six Sigma certifications

WINTER SALE! Get 15% Discount on All Your Purchases!

This is a ONE TIME OFFER. You will never see this Again

Instant Discount


15% OFF

Discount on All Your Purchase Enter Your Email Address to Receive Your 15% OFF Discount Code. Act on All Exams!

A confirmation link will be sent to this email address to verify your login.

* We value your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address.