mcAfee Secure Website


Vendor: ITIL

Certification Overview

ITIL or IT Infrastructure Library was developed by CCTA or Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency being the set of comprehensive practices for ITSM (IT Service Management), which focuses with the aligning of IT services for the business industry.

From IT community, the code of practice is very important to achieve the effective support in delivering high-quality and cost-effective IT services. The OCG or Office of Government Commerce upholds the library and they release all the updates regarding ITIL. ITIL certifications provide the best practices for the IT services and IT operations management industry.

ITIL also provides the structured organization for running cost efficient operations, the enhanced performance and the control of activities all over the multi-layers.

Who need to do this certification?

ITIL certification is not only for the technicians and software engineers; this is also available to different ITIL professionals that are required to run processes from junior, medium and high levels of the service management. Junior levels of job includes coordinator jobs that are responsible for the coordination of technicians, suppliers and customers, managers, reporting and organizing meetings with one another.


ITIL certifications have lots of benefits for the certified individuals and the organization itself. ITIL certification is providing practical network to identify, plan, deliver and support IT services into the IT industry. ITIL certifications can also increase the productivity of business and competence by way of reliable IT services.

This certification ITIL can also define the process with clear and documented responsibility for every activity, which will result into an increased efficiency. ITIL certification will also help the employees to pay attention with the needs of their customers instead of giving more time to the technological problems.

Associated Exams

ITIL certification exam provides modular approaches to ITIL Certification, which is made of 4 levels of certificates focusing with the different areas and amount of depth. These 4 ITIL exams are composed of: ITIL Foundation; ITIL Intermediate; and Managing across the Lifecycle.

The modular structure will make the certification exams flexible and more achievable. Every certification will give the number of credits to move into the more advanced level of qualification.


Prerequisites for ITIL Master Qualification Certificates are ITIL expert certification; 5-year work experience from leading managerial advisory role in the IT Service Management and have to demonstrate the practical involvement regarding ITIL practices.

Exam Overview

ITIL Foundation exam is about the entry level of ITIL qualification that offers general awareness regarding the major key elements, terminology used and concepts about ITIL service cycle. After passing this ITIL Foundation training and ITIL Foundation exam, the candidate will learn the basic understanding about ITIL.

Before the candidate can go to the next level, which is the ITIL intermediate level, the candidate must first pass the ITIL Foundation examination.

This Foundation qualification and exam covers:

  1. Required basic understanding of ITIL framework;
  2. Better understanding of how ITIL can be utilized for enhancing IT service management
  3. How to contribute to the ongoing service enhancement.

The candidate must get 65% of the exam to pass the ITIL Foundation certification.

ITIL Intermediate qualification is the next level after passing the ITIL Foundation certification. This level has two structures with modules providing diverse focuses in IT Service Management. The candidate may opt to pick one, but it is for the best if the candidate takes the 2 structures with different modules. The structures of Intermediate Level are Intermediate Lifecycle module and the Intermediate Capability modules.

Intermediate Lifecycle module (3 credits each) covers:

  1. Service Strategy
  2. Service Design
  3. Service Transition
  4. Service Operation
  5. Continual Service Improvement.

Intermediate Capability module (4 credits each) covers:

  1. Operational Support and Analysis
  2. Planning, Protection and Optimization
  3. Release, Control and Validation
  4. Service Offerings and Agreements.

The candidates must have gone through training from Accredited Training Organization and have INTIL Foundation Certification. The candidate should pass 70% of the Intermediate examination.

MALC examination is the qualification between Intermediate and Expert levels, which is the final and require qualification to get the Expert level status. This aims to help the candidates to apply their knowledge in the real world of ITIL. In order to pass this ITIL qualification, the candidate must have at least 70% of the examination passed. This qualification is needed to be achieving if the candidate wanted to move to the next level that is the ITIL Master Level, the highest qualification level of the ITIL.

Validity of Certifications

ITIL certification will not expire, it has been around for many years already and there are some components that were changed. Luckily, ITIL qualifications will never expire at all, which means professionals can progress being ITIL professionals anytime without recertification.

Expert View

For me, having my ITIL certifications meant I will approach changes in roles with regards to process consultancy in more comfortable manner. I personally think that that my next role is reversed, focusing with process consultancy having my technical expertise, which help me to develop tools, thus, dipper dive in the basic ITIL Foundation provides me the balance I need.

Neil Grant, ITIL expert