mcAfee Secure Website

ITIL: Information Technology Infrastructure Library

Certification overview

Information Technology Infrastructure Library, popularly known as ITIL is a well-known structure for the management of IT service delivery all over the world. ITIL is the service lifecycle which is providing specific activities while designing, developing, and delivering and supporting IT services. To make is clearer, IT services are IT activities that deliver the business value of the company’s end users and their clients. With ITIL processes, the companies are assured that their services are well-delivered consistently, well-defined and incorporate the best practices, which results for a better level of services to the users.

ITIL course is a great practice framework used by private or public sectors all over the world. It shows how IT resources were organized for delivering their business value, documenting, and the different roles of IT services management. IT service management covers the ITIL change management, which helps the organization to understand and minimize the changes risks within the IT environment. ITIL change management is normally the process for managing people and the side of changes. ITIL change management helps to implement the abilities to create, assess, approve and implement the changes within the environment.

Who need to do this certification?

ITIL course certification is an important skill to all the IT professionals from system administrators up to the CIOs. Lots of huge companies have devoted ITIL mentors and coaches who can help them guide their projects with different steps from the ITIL framework. The ITIL experts have huge understanding about the landscape of IT that normally spots trouble with the service design docs or by the implementation planning in just minutes.

ITIL course certification is also important to acquire by the project managers, who manage ITIL change management and IT, service trenches daily. The IT architects, IT engineers and IT manager might not become ITIL experts, but having the basic knowledge regarding the ITIL framework can help them to understand the ITIL processes.


The benefits of ITIL certification are to provide a documented framework to the IT practices, which flow around the IT organization all over the world. It also reduces the IT costs and supports the improvement for the users’ productivity. The ITIL certifications will also support the ability of the IT professionals in measuring and improving the internal performance provisions. These certifications ITIL can also improve the communications flow between the IT, organizations and business departments as well as identify the responsibilities of the IT Service management together with the ITIL change management. ITIL certifications can help to improve the ability of the IT in adjusting business challenges and can improve the relationship of the IT professionals and the businesses with trust.

Associated Exams

ITIL exams are composed of ITIL foundation examination, ITIL Intermediate examination and ITIL MALC examination.


ITIL foundation certification is the entry level of all the ITIL certifications. ITIL Foundation exam can be accomplished without prerequisite but training from Accredited Training Organization is recommended, but self-study is also suitable. After Passing the ITIL Foundation examination and getting the certification, ITIL Intermediate certification can be followed. ITIL certification and training from Accredited Training Organization is required to pursue this Intermediate certification.

Certificate from ITIL Foundation and ITIL Intermediate and training from Accredited Training Organization is needed to move on to the next level of certificate, which is the ITIL Expert certification. In order to have this, the candidate needs to pass the MALC examination.

Examination Overview

The following ITIL certifications are obtainable under ITIL Qualification Scheme:

ITIL Foundation also known as the ITIL v3 is a certificate for IT Service Management considered being the entry level of ITIL examination. Prerequisites are not needed in this examination, however training from Accredited Training Organization or self-study is recommended.

ITIL Intermediate certification is the core level of this ITIL qualification scheme. To get examination for this level, the candidates must have ITIL Foundation qualification certificate and must have completed a training ITIL course from Accredited Institution. Intermediate levels have the following set of examinations available:

Service Lifecycle Examinations

  1. Service Strategy
  2. Service Design
  3. Service Transition
  4. Service Operation
  5. Continual Service Improvement

Service Capability Examinations

  1. Planning, Protection and Organization
  2. Release, Control and Validation
  3. Operation, Support and Analysis
  4. Service, Offering and Agreement

ITIL Managing across the Lifecycle or MALC is the highest examination for this ITIL scheme. The candidates who have 17 credits from ITIL Foundation and ITIL Intermediate certifications are qualified to take this ITIL course and examination, and soon will be qualified for the ITIL expert level after the completion.

Validity of Certifications

The validity of ITIL certifications are forever, without expiration. IT professionals are fortunate; they can continue to be progressive with their ITIL qualifications without the need to renew their certificates.

Expert Review

I have achieved my ITIL Foundation certification last year, and I personally think that this ITIL certification is very important for my job as IT consultant. This certificate has helped me changed my roles regarding the process consultancy in a more convenient manner.

Brenan Grant, IT consultant based in Ohio

Related IT Guides

  1. Six Sigma Black Belt Certification overview
  2. ITIL certifications: topics of exams
  3. Six Sigma Yellow Belt certification
  4. ITIL Intermediate Certification
  5. Six Sigma Black Belt
  6. Six Sigma Green Belt Certification overview
  7. ITIL certifications, more accent on existing training methods
  8. ITIL certification is a huge benefit
  9. PMI PMP certification, more accent on required exams
  10. Project Management Professional Certification
  11. ISC2 CISSP certificates
  12. ITIL V3 Foundation certification overview
  13. Project Management Professional degree
  14. Six Sigma certifications
  15. CISSP certifications: examination topics
  16. ITIL V3 Foundation
  17. Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) certification
  18. Six Sigma certification: how to achieve
  19. PMI PMP will introduce you to the project management career
  20. PMI PMP certification overview
  21. Six Sigma certifications: exam questions
  22. PMI PMP certification
  23. ITIL v3 foundation: preparing for exam
  24. PMI PMP certification, more accent on existing training methods
  25. PMI PMP certification, more accent on exam common questions
  26. Project Management Professional Certificate
  27. ITIL V3 Foundation certification: topics
  28. CISSP practice exam
  29. PMI PMP certification, more accent on preparation methods
  30. Six Sigma and Lean Six Sigma overview