mcAfee Secure Website

Project Management Professional Certification overview

Certification Overview

Project Management Professional degree is a globally accepted professional degree. It is opening up new opportunities for project managers around the world as they can gain access to a global work environment. The degree entirely stress on developing the competencies needed for ensuring smooth running of a project. This is done keeping in mind the industry requirements, employer requirements and challenges that are emerging while operating the project.

The PMP certification is awarded by the Project Management Institute. However, it is not possible for students living in the distant corners of the world to make their way to the classes in Project Management Institute. It is for them a wide range of PMP certification online courses or PMP Online training courses have been developed.

Who need to do this certification?

Aspirants who are seeking to build a better career in project management are encouraged to participate. The course structure is rigorous, so project managers who have the passion and hunger for success would develop the need to do achieve this certification.


A professional degree is accepted worldwide and can increase the probability for the degree holders to work in diverse environments across the world. This would increase their experience as well as exposure to the critical situations faced during handling projects. Hence, managers would develop the expertise in working across a variety of cultures. This increases the marketability and salary level of the managers.

Associated Exam

As mentioned above, the Project Management Professional exam is a single paper consisting of multiple choice questions.


Candidates must have either a secondary degree or a bachelor’s degree. However, five years of work experience in project management is required with the secondary degree and three years of relevant work experience is required with the bachelor’s degree. The work experience should consist of 4500 hours in project site and 35 related to the education.

Exam Overview

The PMP exam is based on 5 processes of project management. The processes are also called domains. The domains are divided into tasks which involves the fulfillment of certain specific criteria or objectives.

The five processes are:

  1. Initiating process
  2. Planning process
  3. Executing process
  4. Monitoring process
  5. Closing process

The questions are developed by a board which consists of holders of the PMP credentials. The questions are focused on relating the practical knowledge with the relevant theories which have been discussed during the coursework. The multiple choice questions are designed in a manner which encourages critical and analytical thinking of the managers where they have to apply themselves in making decisions based on their knowledge, skills and experience. This method effectively brings out the depth of critical thinking and the results perfectly reflect the knowledge levels of the candidates.

The domains relates to each of the processes in project management. Initiating process deals with project selection criteria, cost benefit analysis and developing the project outline. The planning processes imparts the knowledge of requirement gathering, process planning, diagramming techniques, project planning, communications planning, change and risk planning etc. The executing process is related to the tools and techniques of monitoring project progress, quality standards and continuous improvement processes. Monitoring processes deals with performance tracking techniques (PERT, CPM etc.), cost analysis, control limits, change management, risk identification, reporting and problem solving. The final process deals with all the procedures related to the closing of the project like feedback, review and transition planning.

Candidates can participate in various PMP online courses before sitting for the exam. Many PMP online training packages are also available which could help the students in preparing before the exam. Online PMP certification mock exam also helps the students in getting a flavor of the question pattern. However, the certificates provided are for the completion of that particular training program. The actual PMP certification is provided by PMI. Online PMP certification materials also help in self-assessment of the individual. PMP exam procedures take place online so it can be referred to as an online based certification.

Certificate Validity

The PMP certification is valid for a period of 3 years. It requires completion of 60 Professional Development Activities for renewing the certification.

Expert Review

Project Management Professional (PMP) certificate is one of the most important globally recognized certification for project managers. It is such a certification, the demand of this was high and it will remain high all time.

This global recognition will help any individual to get good jobs and it will secure career path as well.

Project Management Institute, Governing Body for PMP Examinations

Related IT Guides

  1. ITIL V3 Foundation certification: topics
  2. Six Sigma Black Belt Certification overview
  3. Six Sigma Green Belt certification
  4. ITIL certification: examination overview
  5. ITIL certifications: topics of exams
  6. PMI PMP Overview
  7. Six Sigma: skill levels
  8. PMI PMP certification, more accent on exam common questions
  9. Type 1 ITIL certifications
  10. ITIL: Build Your Career
  11. PMP study guide
  12. ITIL
  13. Six Sigma certifications
  14. Six Sigma Green Belt Certification overview
  15. Six Sigma and Lean Six Sigma
  16. PMI PMP certification, more accent on required exams
  17. Six Sigma Black Belt
  18. Six Sigma Green Belt
  19. Project Management Professional degree
  20. Green Belt Certification
  21. ITIL V3 Foundation certification
  22. ITIL certification is a huge benefit
  23. ITIL Certifications overview
  24. PMP Certificate
  25. PMI PMP certification, more accent on existing training methods
  26. Six Sigma Course
  27. ITIL certifications
  28. ISC2 CISSP certifications
  29. ITIL Intermediate Certification
  30. Six Sigma certifications: exam questions