mcAfee Secure Website

Six Sigma and Lean Six Sigma overview

Certification Overview

Six Sigma Certification which is also known as lean Six Sigma Certification is becoming a popular degree day by day. Lean Six Sigma certified professionals are making a mark in the corporate world with the skills they are exhibiting. The lean Six Sigma certification has a number of levels: Lean Six Sigma Green Belt certification, Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt certification, Lean Six Sigma Black Belt certification and Lean Six Sigma Master Black Belt certification.

Who needs this certification?

Individuals who are ambitious in developing a brilliant career with higher salaries should look to take this certificate.


The benefits include an improvement in the skills and competencies of the individual. The employers usually give preference to candidates who have a professional degree and this gives them the edge in the job market.

Associated Exam

There is a single paper consisting of multiple choice questions for each of the levels. The difficulty level of the exam paper varies depending on the color of the belt.


There are no specific requirements. However, people usually get their certification while doing a job or after completing their bachelor’s degree.

Exam Overview

The Six Sigma course content comprises of 5 steps called Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve and Control. These 5 steps consist of tasks which help in building the competencies of the individual. The tasks contain a wide range of Six Sigma tools and techniques. This Lean Six Sigma tools aims in achieving certain objectives which are vital for the individuals.

Students before appearing in the exam must go through online practice materials to gather some idea about the actual question pattern. These online courses are designed to prepare the candidates in a very effective way. The guidelines could also be found out inside the Six Sigma tools PDF available online. Another reason for which candidates must go through online training courses is that many tuition providers give the facility for their students to sit for mock exams before the actual exam. These exams develop the mindset of the candidates before giving the exam. The candidates can assess their strengths and weaknesses when they are giving the mock exam and make necessary changes during the real exam. This would play a key part in improving the exam scores.

The syllabus for yellow, green and black belts consist of the same contents. However, there are considerable number of differences in the pattern of questions, difficulty level of questions and evaluation criteria. This can also be related to DMAIC level.

The syllabuses usually consist of the following levels which as mentioned above are divided into tasks.

  • Lean Six Sigma overview
  • Define phase
  • Measure phase
  • Analyze phase
  • Improve phase
  • Control phase

The introduction phase basically gives an overview of the course which helps the student in getting familiar with the learning objects. This develops the mindset of the candidates.

The define phase includes project plan designing, understanding and project plan development.

The measure phase develops the introduction to Six Sigma tools required for measuring certain aspects related to the project. Usually data collection takes place at this phase using the tools.

The analyze phase demands the candidates to conduct process analysis, data analysis and critical evaluation. The results that are obtained from the measure phase are then used to form a model, pattern or trend. Sensible solutions based on the raw data obtained from the measurement stage are then used to develop a solution model. Hypothesis testing usually takes place at this stage of the learning.

The improve phase requires critical judgment and evaluation from the candidates. The solution to the given problem is constantly refined to perfection so that the model efficiently and effectively takes care of the problem. Any flaws which are present in the current model of solution are refined and improved in this phase of study.

The control phase involves creation of monitoring plans, develop response plans and look for continuous improvement in this stage. This usually ensures that the solution derived is sustainable.

Besides the 5 steps above, there is another step known as Six Sigma leadership which helps in building the leadership skills of the candidates.

Validity of Certification

A certificate under the IASSC (International Association for Six Sigma Certification) or the institute designated for appearing the exam will be issued. There is no restriction and specification regarding the validity of the certification.

Expert Review

Lean Six Sigma certification directly or indirectly plays a key part in building critical skills. The certification also helps in the development of analytical ability for individuals which are vital in the functioning of organizations nowadays.

Villanova University, Institution providing Six Sigma certification

Related IT Guides

  1. Six Sigma Black Belt
  2. Six Sigma Black Belt Training
  3. CISSP certifications: examination topics
  4. PMI PMP certification - for competing people
  5. Project Management Professional Certification overview
  6. Project Management Professional degree
  7. Six Sigma Green Belt Certification overview
  8. Six Sigma Black Belt certification
  9. Confirm your skills with PMI PMP certification
  10. PMI PMP Certification: topics for exam
  11. PMP course
  12. Six Sigma
  13. ISC2 CISSP
  14. PMI PMP
  15. Earn your PMP cerification
  16. Six Sigma Green Belt
  17. Six Sigma certification: overview, prerequisites and validity
  18. PMI PMP certification adds strength to yours resume
  19. Six Sigma certifications
  20. PMI PMP certification, more accent on required exams
  21. ITIL V3 Foundation - for all who looking to uplift their career
  22. Project Management Professional Certificate
  23. ITIL V3 Foundation certification: topics
  24. PMI PMP certification, more accent on existing training methods
  25. ITIL v3 foundation: preparing for exam
  26. ITIL
  27. Six Sigma certifications: exam questions
  28. ITIL Intermediate Certification
  29. ITIL Certifications overview
  30. Six Sigma: skill levels