mcAfee Secure Website
Scrum Certification Exams

Tested & Approved Scrum Study Materials

Validate your Skills with Updated Scrum Exam Questions & Answers

Scrum Certification Exams

Scrum Certifications

  • PSM I - Professional Scrum Master I
  • PSM II - Professional Scrum Master II

Scrum Exams

  • PSM I - Professional Scrum Master I
  • PSM II - Professional Scrum Master II

Scrum is an effective project management methodology that helps solve complex adaptive problems by creating different products. In other words, it is a framework that helps both organizations and individuals create value through adaptive solutions to existing problems. Thus, Scrum methodology can be applied not only in software development but also in various production fields.

Initially, the word scrum was used in 1986 by Hirotaka Takeuchi and Ikujiro Nonaka to emphasize the teamwork. But scrum as a framework was introduced in 1995 by Schwaber and Sutherland. In 2001 Schwaber together with Mike Beedle described the Scrum’s approach which is vital in planning and operating the product development. After that Schwaber founded Scrum Alliance, and in 2009 the This year he also published the documents named The Scrum Guide.

So, scrum is a feed-back driven approach that controls how the team works to develop a product. The Scrum framework makes this process visible and helps to improve the workflow.

Moreover, the core values of Scrum are focus, respect, openness, courage, and commitment. These are the qualities required of the Scrum team, which typically consists of a Scrum Master, developers, and a product owner.

Certification Program

Scrum currently claims 585,000 certified specialists. This is not surprising since each Scrum professional certificate is a testament to the expertise and ability of its holder to create valuable products with a higher level of flexibility.

As already mentioned, the main members of the Scrum team are a master, a product owner, and a developer. Therefore, the main tracks of accreditation are:

  • PSM – Professional Scrum Master. This certification is designed to check and validate knowledge of the Scrum methodology. The candidate's knowledge can be assessed at three levels with the issuance of an appropriate certificate. Thus, the fundamental accreditation (PSM I) indicates that the candidate has a sufficient understanding of the Scrum terminology and approaches, as well as the key concepts of its application, while the advanced qualification (PSM II) confirms an advanced comprehension of Scrum principles, and the ability to apply this methodology in real-world situations. Finally, the advanced designation (PSM III) is designed for those who understand how to apply Scrum Values and Scrum in a variety of situations and teams.
  • PSPO – Professional Scrum Product Owner. This certification covers knowledge of Scrum Product Ownership at three levels as well. So, to get PSPO I (fundamental) the candidate must prove a basic understanding of the Scrum framework. For PSPO II (advanced), in addition to the Scrum framework, s/he will also need to understand product backlog management, portfolio planning, various business strategies, and the process of working with stakeholders. At the same time, a PSPO III (Distinguished) professional has outstanding expertise and skills to create valuable products through Scrum.
  • PSD – Professional Scrum Developer. This certification is aimed at professionals with the ability to build software using Scrum, prove their competence in complex software development, including effective techniques and practices. And as a comprehensive training Scrum recommends candidates take the Applying Professional Scrum for Software Development course.

In addition to the designations described above, the Scrum accreditation program also includes:

  • SPS – Scaled Professional Scrum. This certification confirms that the professional understands how to manage scalable software and apply the Nexus Framework. And an SPS-certified individual knows effective methods for agile development that can be applied to multiple Scrum teams working together.
  • PAL – Professional Agile Leadership. This certification aims to deeply understand why leadership, support for Agile practices, and sponsorship are important for an organization to be agile. Thus, it is necessary to know how agile allows you to add value to the campaign and achieve higher performance.
  • PAL-EBM – Professional Agile Leadership - EBM. This certification confirms confident knowledge of Evidence-Based Management. The PAL-EBM certified professional understands that an experiential approach helps companies continually evolve, and knows how to improve customer results, business outcomes, and organizational capabilities.
  • PSK – Professional Scrum™ with Kanban. This certification is needed for professionals to prove that they understand how Scrum teams can support value creation, realization, and measurement processes through the use of Scrum with Kanban.
  • PSU – Professional Scrum™ with User Experience. This certification confirms that the specialist is able to work effectively as part of the Scrum team, as well as integrate UX with Scrum using the fundamental knowledge to deliver greater value.